6/5-6/9 Weekly Work Log

Session Number:6
Week Number:2
Total Estimated Hours Contributed this Week: 5
What is/was your overall goal for this week? write a little 8-16 measure song

Work Tasks 

Date Task Description Time Spent Was / Were your choices and work Best Practices? Why? 
6/5come up with chord progressions and how I want to arrange the chords for the melody 15 min yes, I decided on an 8-chord progression., (Cm, B flat, Gm, Fm, Cm, B flat, Gm, A flat). I really like how mysterious and grand this progression is with the heroic chord at the end.
6/6 Decide how I want the left hand to be arranged (broken chords, inversions, etc.) 25 min yes, I decided on a 3/4 time signature where each note from the chord gets 1 beat but I might change that because I think it is a little too slow.
 6/7 Do some improv over the chords in the left hand to get a feel for what I think sounds good.  20 min yes, I have tried writing music before but it didn’t have much structure and I didn’t know where to start so I think that this method of writing is more productive and easier.
 6/8 start deciding on melodies  35 min yes, I decided to change the left hand to regularly broken chords and have a 4/4 time signature. I wanted to make the melody flow and I like how I have accomplished that so far.
 6/9 finalize melodies and rhythms  15 min yes, I felt like this practice was necessary to lock in the song so I could feel good about it. For the rest of class, I listened to and started looking at some songs I want to learn over the summer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *