Rhythm Research, Analysis, and Recording Project

TAG Young Scholars Latin Jazz band members play the drums.” by Learning Leaders NYC is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Summary

For the rhythm project, we explored different types/styles of rhythms and different ways to make rhythms. we did this with tools like hook theory and garage band.

My First HookTheory Rhythm (Beat)

Part 1 – Drum Arrangements Made Simple

Part 2 – Arranging Drums in Hookpad

Part 3 – Advanced Drum Arrangements in Hookpad

I used one of the basic drum rhythms from HookTheory over my melody. I like the fill at the end but I want to make more space for more fills because the rest of the rhythm is kind of boring. For my final rhythm, I think I will use Garage Band so I can have more options for instruments and make my own rhythms.

Notes from Howard Goodall’s Rhythm Video

Watch How Rhythm Works (47 minutes)

CueNotes
-how has classical and jazz music influenced modern-day instrumental music?

-Who are some good musicians who use multiple types of rhyme?
Rythem and pulse are expressed differently in classical than in a style with drums like jazz
beats are generally subdivided into groups of two
laying multiple sets of notes that are twice as long can add tension
accents emphasize certain beats, usually the more important ones
syncopation makes rhythm lose and fun and is common in ragtime music
It makes things sound more human instead of mechanical
-swing is used primarily in jazz and is a sort of long short rhythm
-cross-rhythm superimposes different rhythms on top of each other
-rap music uses a lot of cross-rhythm
-Cuban music fused different rhythms from around the world

Summary

In this video, I learned how rhythm evolved over time as new cultures were introduced to each other and how these different types of rhythm can alter the way that the song feels and fits with the other parts.

Rhythm Composition Terms and Definitions

  • Rhythm comes from natural things
  • rhythm is even in music when you can’t hear it
  • most beats are divided by 2,3, or 4
  • accent, pulse, sub-division
  • accents can put emphasis on one or two notes to make it sound very different
  • syncopation is a musical slight of hand that makes it sound more mischievous and playful
  • the elastication of syncopation became jazz
  • cross-rhythm is music’s party trick. its the overlay of one pattern over another
  • in Cuban music, the melody and bass line are ahead
  • the Latin push has become very common nowadays

One of My Favorite Rhythms (Beats)

In the rhythm of this song, I really like how it is layered between the drumset and the piano. On its own, the drumset is already super cool but when the piano comes in it feels very lively and bouncy. because the song starts and ends with only the rhythm section the rhythm really feels like the backbone of the whole tune.

My Second Rhythm (Beats)

what I like about this baseline is that I think it would add a lot of color and texture to a song. I also am glad that I made this. one in Garage Band because HookTheory didn’t have many options for creating your own baselines.

What I Learned & Problems I Solved

In the rhythm project, I learned a lot about different types of rhythms and where they originated from as well as the ways these rhythms could be combined and played on top of each other. I had to solve the problem of not having enough options for making my own melodies with HookTheory, so I switched to Garage Band.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Resources

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *