December 2022 SMART goal project

Man writing music” by rockmixer is licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0.

SUMMARY

Focus / Instrument

Piano/keyboard

Intention (SMART Goal)

By Jan. 13, as a pianist and songwriter, I will have evidence for a piano song I will write by referring to this interview with Jon Batiste for session 3.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

-Rythem in songs (0:35)
-Right-hand melody (dancing and crying)(0:50)
-Stories in the music (1:30)
-Drones (4:10)
-creating space and its purpose (5:52)

Training Source(s)

– Chord progressions (0:35)
– Chord inversions (1:25)
– melody (4:20)
-break down of melody (4:50)
-take the time to experiment using a simple chord progression (1, 4, 5)

SMART Goal Schedule

  1. listen to what I have done so far
  2. listen to other piano songs or non-piano songs for inspiration
  3. don’t copy the inspirational songs
  4. write and brainstorm more of the song in 10-15 minute increments
  5. take a 1-2 minute break to clear my head
  6. record progress with something like voice memos (should take the song length)

PRODUCTION

SMART Goal Starting Point Evidence

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rjrV2c5ZLtyyZceg91IkUKWVVJ8fn6g1/view?usp=sharing

SMART Goal Ending Point Evidence

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1l1sDmnV9HAZgYah2cpqzg9eNcYqUNypn/view?usp=share_link

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking

This project challenged me to learn new skills for music writing and to find new ways to use chords to make melodies that I haven’t done before.

Ways of Working

This was an independent project so I didn’t collaborate with one and there wasn’t much communication needed to complete this project other than communicating about equipment.

Tools for Working

For this project, I used the notes app to write down ideas for the song and I used voice memos as well as the recording function on the keyboard to listen back to what I was working on.

Ways of Living in the World

Having songwriting skills could help me in my future in my career because I want to go into the music field and it might be important to understand the basics of how songs are written.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I think I am going to continue to add and refine this song when we do our songwriting session. Overall I liked how it turned out and I think it just needs some more polishing, I need to add some more emotional aspects to the song like different dynamics.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

April

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *